Panaji Goa Byelection on February 13, 2015 and counting on February 16,2015

Enter your email address:

Get Goa News right in your mailbox!

The date of the byelection for the Panaji assembly constituency has been fixed for February 13 by the Election Commission of India (ECI). Counting of votes will be done on February 16. An ECI press release states that the last date for filing of nominations is January 27. Scrutiny of nominations will be done on January 28, and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures will be January 30. Panaji constituency has a total electorate of 22,010 (male 10,700, female 11,310). The constituency has a total of 30 polling booths.


So far, the two main parties, BJP and Indian National Congress, have informally announced their candidates, Siddarth Kunkalienkar and CCP mayor Surendra Furtado respectively. At least one independent is likely to contest the bypoll.

The constituency was represented by former Goa CM and current Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, who resigned as CM on November 8 to join the Union cabinet. On November 24, Parrikar resigned as Panaji MLA after being elected to the Rajya Sabha from Lucknow.