Category Archives: Goa Assembly Elections

Goa Nuvem MLA Mickky likely to surrender this week

The absconding Nuvem MLA Francisco (Mickky) Pacheco who was sentenced to go to jail for assaulting an engineer of the state electricity department eight years ago, is likely to surrender this week, sources said. Law caught up with the flamboyant politician from Salcete on March 30 when the Supreme Court dismissed his petition challenging the […]

BJP-MGP alliance to remain intact in Goa

The much-touted overnight ‘Chintan Baithak’, the contemplation meeting of the legislators of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party ended on Tuesday, with the party deciding to continue its alliance with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) discarding the reservations expressed by a couple of legislators over the functioning of Minister for Public Works Department and Transport Ramakrishna […]

Congmen for new Goa leader

There’s turmoil in the Congress. Following the Cortalim byelection fiasco, party workers and MLAs have demanded the ouster of the state Congress leadership, including the high command representatives, from their respective posts. Speaking to TOI, Cumbharjua MLA Pandurang Madkaikar said the withdrawal of the party candidate’s nomination was a failure of the party leadership. “The […]

Parrikar inducts six new ministers in Goa

Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar inducted six new ministers in his cabinet at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan on Sunday. Goa Governor K Sankaranarayanan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Ramesh Tavadkar, Mahadev Naik, Deelip Parulekar and Milind Naik (all BJP) and Pandurang alias Deepak Dhavlikar (MGP) and Avertino Furtado (Independent).   All […]

Ramdev to hold ‘Goa Bachao Satyagraha’ at Panjim

Ahead of state legislative assembly election, Yoga Guru,  Baba Ramdev is set to hold a day long ‘Goa Bachao Satyagraha’ at Azad Maidan on February 26, urging people to elect a ‘clean and transparent’ candidate. However, it has been made clear that Baba Ramdev will not advice voters to vote for any specific political party during […]